Nakia To Sell Limited Poster & Hand Cut Vinyl At Southern Cousins Reunion Show

In conjunction with the 10 year reunion of Nakia & His Southern Cousins happening June 29th at Antone’s in Austin, Nakia will be selling limited edition screen printed posters, and hand cut vinyl of his new album, “Wine To Wine – The Water To Wine Outtakes” (out digitally on June 30th).

Artist Dan Grissom has created a beautiful poster featuring all of the original members of Nakia & His Southern Cousins that will be screen printed, signed, and numbered and available in limited quantity at the show while supplies last.

These very unique records, pressed on clear vinyl, will be numbered and signed by Nakia. This limited edition will only be for sale at the reunion show at Antone’s on June 29th. No orders will be taken in advance so please arrive early to the show in order to make sure you get your copy.

Here’s more info on the new album.

Water To Wine – The Water To Wine Outtakes by Nakia
In the Spring of 2009, Austin artist, Nakia, released his debut full-length album, titled, “Water To Wine.” The album included a few original songs penned by Nakia, but also several written by Austin singer-songwriter, Michael Fracasso, and a song by multi-platinum songwriter, Monte Warden. It was well received by critics and fans alike, and cemented Nakia’s placement among Austin’s best recording artists. The record was recorded using Nakia’s backing band at the time, the beloved, “Southern Cousins,” that had played many residencies at Austin venues such as Ego’s, Momo’s, and Jovita’s. That band included the original “Fresh Up Girls,” Karla Manzur & Jessie England singing backing vocals, guitarist (and album producer), Mac McNabb, Johnny V on bass, Ed Jarusinsky on drums, and Derek Morris on keys. Legendary drummer, Barry “Frosty” Smith also recorded several tracks for the album. All and all there were almost 30 songs recorded for the album but only 10 were used in the finished release.

So, when he was approached by Jon Niess from Austin Signal about taking part in his Texas Music Magazine Lathe-Cut series of limited edition vinyl releases, Nakia called up producer Mac McNabb and dug out the best outtakes for “Wine To Water.” Many of these tracks were fan favorites from the live shows, including “Nuthin’ But” and Nakia’s take on the Ryan Adams/David Rawlings tune, “Touch, Feel & Lose.” But there were many more that have never been heard before this release such as the psychedelic Blues jam, “Nobody Does It Like My Baby,” and the tender AM-Gold ballad, “Grace (Please Let Me Fall).”

That project sparked the idea to have a full-on Southern Cousins reunion and a proper album release show happening Thursday, June 29, 2017 at Antone’s Nightclub in Austin, TX. All of the original members will be on stage and there will be limited amounts of the hand-cut vinyl version of the album available for sale.

About Nakia:
Alabama-raised singer/songwriter Nakia has become a fixture in the Austin music scene since arriving in 2002. He was a Top 8 Semifinalist on CeeLo’s team during the first season of ‘The Voice’ on NBC. Nakia is a 2016 Black Fret nominee artist. Texas Music Magazine says, “His live performances are akin to a religious experience,” and Rolling Stone Magazine said Nakia is “…fun to watch, like a bear who knows how to sing.” Nakia recently produced, performed and was the musical director for the Austin Salute 2 Prince featuring Grupo Fantasma & Friends for two sold out nights at Antone’s benefitting the Clifford Antone Foundation and the SIMS Foundation. He has written, recorded, and performed with everyone from Lamont Dozier and Sharon Jones to Alejandro Escovedo and Gary Clark, Jr. Nakia is an Austin original. He lives in Windsor Park with his husband “RobbyTheRobot” and their retired champion Bouvier des Flandres, Tyson.

About Austin Signal:
Austin Signal is a high quality recording studio which specializes in short run vinyl cutting, vinyl on demand, and ensemble recording – both analog and digital. It is located in the Hill Country of Austin, Texas.

Recorded, Produced, Mixed by Mac McNabb at Oxford Studios
Written by Nakia Reynoso (KiaChia Songs BMI) Unless Noted
Nakia: Lead & Backing Vocals, Organ, Piano
Mac McNabb: Guitars, Bass, Synths, Etc.
Johnny V: Bass • Derek Morris: Piano, Organ
Barry “Frosty” Smith & Ed Jarusinsky: Drums
“The Fresh Up Girls” (Karla Manzur & Jessie England): Backing Vocals
Thomas Van Der Brook: Horns